Uncategorized

The ominous first post

Man, writing this first post is like writing the opening paragraph of a really long research paper in college. I could think of all the good stuff I wanted to talk about in the middle, but that beginning always got me. It was always the last thing I wrote, and not for the good reasons, like continuity. Simply because I couldn’t think of what to put there.

So here goes.

My name is Sarah and I’m twenty-something. I have a bachelor’s degree in communication and work at an advertising/pr agency. I work with various types of companies on everything from advertisement design and placement to news releases and story coverage, website and social media management and content for brochure creation, and almost everything in-between. I love the company I work for and am blessed with really smart, helpful co-workers.

I’m a proud Michigander and was raised on the Tigers, Red Wings, and Notre Dame football.

I married this pretty awesome guy, Jacob, in 2012. We were high school sweethearts and have been together since 2007, though we’ve known each other forever. Seriously – we stood next to each other in our First Communion picture. He is a great husband, chef and friend, even if he does play Halo too much. 🙂 I feel very blessed to be his wife and he shows me another reason to love him every day. Plus, he’s really handsome, a genuinely good man and a phenomenal drummer.

nowonefoot_wed1

We have two cute cats, Bowser and Koopa. They aren’t technically brothers but you’d never know that if you stop by during nap time. It’s pretty much always some version of this.

bows_koop1

Yep, they’re pretty adorable. And love snuggling.

So why am I starting a blog? There are essentially two main subjects of my life that I have been researching and growing over the past year: faith and health.

While I was in college, I took a very hands-off approach to my Catholic faith. As my husband and I prepared for the sacrament of holy matrimony, I realized just how lacking my faith-life was and how empty, hungry it left me feeling. I began digging into my faith – I’ve started reading the catechism and the Bible, I follow Catholic blogs and news sources, I actually pay attention to the homilies and readings at mass. I’m even learning Latin, though that was partially because I’ve always wanted to be bilingual and I love the connection between Latin and history. This blog will often be a place for me to document new discoveries, aha moments, thoughts, struggles and everything in-between, and I hope we can have an open conversation about all forms of religious and spiritual beliefs. Just because I have chosen this path for my faith-life, this will never be a place for rudeness or bigotry.

Shortly after my husband and I got married, we watched a documentary on Netflix called Hungry for Change. If you haven’t seen it, do it now! It kickstarted us on a journey that has completely changed our lives. We followed up with Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead and while we no longer juice on a daily basis, we fully believe in healing ourselves using nutrition, not medicines (and yes, we understand sometimes medicine is necessary and life-saving, we’re talking about acid reflux medication, tylenol, cold medicine, etc.). As the main meal planner and grocery getter, I love finding new, delicious recipes using nutrient-dense foods. I hope to share what I’ve learned, recipes I’ve tried and how they turned out, and I hope to learn more and more about living a natural lifestyle. Next on my list of things to switch are household items like cleaning supplies, deodorant, etc.

So there you have it. That’s basically me and why I’m here. I hope this blog will be an open, friendly place to discuss all aspects of life and a wonderful tool to share knowledge. I look forward to sharing my journey with you and hopefully you will do the same!

Leave a Reply

